Life dilemmas & anxiety

Sorry to have been so quiet here recently, I’ve had one of those weeks that sapped the life out of me and blog writing fell to the bottom of the list.

So I have some exciting news…potentially. I recently interviewed for a position within an animal charity, in the hope that working for something I’m interested in would give me excitement again. I’ve worked in Higher Education at a University for about a year and a half and though it may pay well, I feel very isolated and unhappy a lot of the time.

The dilemma comes with the new job as it is not as much money (I managed to negotiate it to around £2k less a year- it wasn’t even lower than that) and would look like a step down on my CV, back to an assistant type role. The commute is also a little more complicated, though not especially longer than my current one.

I had a call around 4 hours after my interview, and obviously, because the gods knew I wasn’t sure about the new job- I was offered it.

I have been agonising over this decision for two days now. Do I go for less money but POTENTIALLY more happiness, whilst knowing I could regret it if my new team are just as unfriendly? My current role may have potential to go somewhere, though when I spoke to my manager about it she was very vague. I can’t decide where to go with this- I feel like each decision is a risk right now.

I had to give an answer to the new job by 9am today- and I accepted. But I am still full of anxiety and worry that this could be a backwards step without any development options.

So I’ve come to the community here as I know how supportive you can be. Have you ever had this situation? How did you deal with it? Does more money mean more happiness? Is it better to work for an organisation you care about?

Here’s to new beginnings I guess!

xx

Leave a comment