Best burger I’ve ever had!

“This is the best burger I will ever eat, can we live here?” was the most positive sentence ever to come out of my boyfriends mouth, which was still full of BBQ bacon burger!

As you all know, I was in Berlin this April and I have shared many reviews of the different places we visited. I have, however, saved the best for last!

It was the evening of our 2nd day, I had fallen down the stairs of the S-Bahn station and sprained my ankle so we were not up to a huge trek to find some dinner. I hopped on TripAdvisor- my holiday bible- and found BurgerAMT which wasn’t too far for us to go.

We scanned the menu on the website and there were options for me (a vegetarian) and my partner (a fussy omnivore), amazing.

Burger AMT is located in-what I perceived to be- a residential area. There is a cute park opposite which is handy as BurgerAMT is very small. I could easily have walked past it and not even noticed if it weren’t for the swarm of people and pumping music. However, the line was virtually non-existent and these people were waiting for their food orders. This was the first sign of the greatness to come.

The server spoke decent English which allowed us to ask as many questions as we needed. We picked some drinks from the fridges (including an IPA for Simon) and began our wait. There was one bench type seating along the wall and another small table for 4 people, other than this you had nowhere to sit. This didn’t seem to faze anybody as they came in for takeaway and took it elsewhere. We managed to snag some seats at the table in order to people watch. A huge range of personalities came into the shop and all seemed happy & friendly, we even started talking to some people next to us which is a change from what we experience in London!

After about 15 minutes, our food number was called (albeit in German so we took a while to figure out that the order was ours! Our bad though) and the food was presented really well. Everything was very hot and you could tell it had been cooked fresh to order, I would wait as long as it needs to have fresh food!

My halloumi burger was enormous and stuffed with toppings. It was messy to eat but the fried cheese was amazing (why haven’t I thought of that genius before?!) 

IMG_0266

Our sweet potato fries were well seasoned as well as crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The BBQ sauce it came with (we were offered a choice) was tangy yet smooth, I really enjoyed it and I’m not a BBQ convert.

Simon had the BBQ Bacon Burger and he still won’t stop talking about it- it’s been almost two months! There was so much meat he struggled to finish and that’s a rare thing.

IMG_0267

BurgerAMT gave us a taste of Berlin that we hadn’t yet experienced on our trip, we got to chat with locals and the whole place buzzed. It doesn’t matter how long you are in Berlin, you need to add this to your ‘to-do’ list.

The website has great food photos and descriptions (though you’ll need to run the translate option if you don’t speak German): https://www.burgeramt.com/speisekarte/

Happy Eating!

xx

Leave a comment